Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Hungover? Start Cooking.

I set this blog up a long time ago after I made a comment on facebook, "I'm tired of stupid". A friend of mine suggested I should have a blog with the same title. I set it up and forgot about it for the most part, until today. I read a recipe and it had such potential, but then was just so stupid.

I was looking for a Hassleback Potatoes recipe, they look fun to make, present and eat. I scrolled down the page and saw a recipe for "The Hangover Potato Skin". Hmmm, interesting!

I looked at the picture of a big potato skin full of meat and an egg on top. Yum. THIS looks GOOD! I started reading the recipe and the first thing the guy says is, he doesn't know why he's calling this a 'hangover' meal when he wasn't hungover when he made it and it was in the middle of the afternoon, which actually means nothing, there . Ok, whatever, he thinks it might be so tasty that it will smack your fuzzy head around in the AM and wake you up. I kept reading and realized, there were a lot of steps.

He's got you baking a potato for an hour, scooping out the potato and then another baking session to make the skin crispy after you paint it with melted butter. So Im thinking, the potato is going to take a an hour to bake, it gives you time to rest on the couch with the hangover till the potatoes are done. As I keep reading the recipe, I realize when they come out of the oven, you gotta have a bunch of food cooked to stuff inside.

There's grated cheese and crushed pretzels, not to mention cooking bacon, ground beef and caramelized onions. Oh yeah and a fried egg. That's 4 pans if you do it all at once so you can eat and wash all those pots and pans. I have to revise this if Im hungover. Maybe you can cook it all together, first the onions on slow and low to caramelize or wait, start the bacon on low, let the fat cook off, add the onions to caramelize, then when its almost all done, add the ground beef, it cooks pretty fast. When it's done, drain it all on paper towels and pull out the bacon strips to chop up. Oh and don't forget to fry an egg before you pass out from hangover hunger.

That is a lot of work and logistics when you are hungover - you don't want to make more dishes to wash, you don't want to burn the beef if you cook it first or have crunchy, uncooked onions if you cook them last. This guy is suggesting that I be a breakfast chef with a hangover now...Its just stupid.

Here's my hangover recipe if you are going to cook with a hangover: find something in the fridge you can put on a paper plate, heat up in the microwave and put salsa on it. Salsa cures hangovers.